We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no cost to you. Disclosure
Umpqua packs & vests
| Model | Style | Capacity | Water protection | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Umpqua Ledges ZS2 500 Waist PackPack / vest | Lumbarlisting | — | — | See it on Amazon |
Umpqua NorthFork Chest PackPack / vest More specs
| Chestmaker | — | Water-resistantclaimed | See it on Amazon |
Umpqua SWIFTLINK Overlook Chest PackPack / vest More specs
| Chestmaker | 9.8 Lmaker | — | See it on Amazon |
Umpqua SWIFTLINK Ledges Waist PackPack / vest More specs
| Lumbarmaker | 11.5 Lmaker | — | See it on Amazon |
Umpqua SWIFTLINK ThunderCreek Chest PackPack / vest More specs
| Chestmaker | 5.7 Lmaker | — | See it on Amazon |
Alternatives · packs & vests from other makers
| Model | Style | Capacity | Water protection | Fabric | Weight | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Frogg Toggs Hellbender ToadSkinz Fishing Pack VestPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Vestmaker | — | — | — | — | See it on Amazon |
Frogg Toggs Cascades Classic50 Fly-Fishing VestPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Vestmaker | — | — | Nonwoven breathable materialmaker | — | See it on Amazon |
Bassdash Versatile V1 Utility VestPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Vestmaker | — | — | Premium lightweight nylon fabric and polyester meshmaker | — | See it on Amazon |
Orvis Clearwater Mesh VestPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Vestmaker | — | — | 100% recycled ripstop polyestermaker | — | See it on Amazon |
AC Allen Ultra-Light Gallatin Strap VestPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Vestmaker | — | — | Polyestermaker | 17.6 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
fishpond Switchback 2.0 Wading SystemPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Lumbarmaker | 2 Lmaker | — | 420D nylon recycled Cyclepond fabricmaker | 27.2 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
Simms Guide VestPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Vestmaker | — | — | 100% nylon fabric with DWR finish; 100% polyester mesh liningmaker | 19 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
Bassdash FV01 Classic Fishing VestPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Vestmaker | — | — | Premium polyestermaker | 19.4 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
Flygo Multi-Pockets Fly Bass Fishing Vest PackPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Vestlisting | — | — | — | — | See it on Amazon |
Aventik Vest Backpack with Chest PackPack / vest · alternative More specs
| Hybridmaker | — | Waterproofclaimed | 1680D polyestermaker | 29.6 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
How alternatives are pickedProducts of the same type from other brands, closest first: same price tier as Umpqua's own listings at our last check, then the most maker-published specs. No popularity, no paid placement.
Which Umpqua model, if any
Who Umpqua is
Umpqua's own about page says the idea started in 1972, aiming to supply high-quality flies from top tyers to local fly shops, and that the company started on the North Umpqua River. It says everything it does is made for the water, and it describes work on hook design, pack design, fly storage and tools. It also says it has grown to include 240 influential tyers, past and present. The page does not name the founders, say where the company is based, or say who owns it.
A trade obituary from December 2013 names Dennis Black as the founder, and says he worked with more than 150 expert tyers and built five fly-tying factories in India, Sri Lanka and Thailand. It does not give a founding year, and it places Black "getting Umpqua Feather Merchants off the ground" around 1979, so the 1972 date is the company's own account of when the idea began. I'd keep both in mind and not pick one.
For a pack buyer, the useful fact is the one on the pack pages: Umpqua is a fly company first. Its packs are designed around the fly boxes it sells, and the maker states capacity in boxes as well as liters. (A pack that holds ten fly boxes is described in the only unit a fly fisher actually owns.)
What Umpqua sells on Amazon US now
At our last check (October 2026) we track five Umpqua packs on Amazon US: three chest packs and two waist packs. There are no Umpqua vests, slings, waders or rods in our data. Because that is fewer than eight products, the table also lists alternatives from other brands, labeled as such, so you can compare. They are not a verdict on Umpqua, and they are mostly vests, which are a different style of carrying gear.
In the table, a "maker" mark means Umpqua's own page states the value. A "listing" mark means the Amazon listing says it and the maker's page does not, and a dash means we have not confirmed it. For Umpqua, many weight, fabric and water-protection cells will be dashes, because the pages I read do not list them.
What the Umpqua pages state and what they don't
This matters more than usual, so here it is plainly. The maker's pack pages give capacity in liters and cubic inches, how many fly boxes fit, and the features. They do not give weight, fabric or a water-protection rating for the packs I read. The Overlook page does not list weight, dimensions, materials or water protection. The ThunderCreek page does not list weight, materials or water protection, and the Ledges page does not list weight, materials, water protection or belt size.
So if weight matters to you, as on a long walk to the water, the table cannot tell you. If you fish in rain or deep, the pages do not say how the pack handles it, and the one waterproof-adjacent word, "water resistant" on the NorthFork, is on the Amazon listing, not the maker's page. I'd treat these as packs that keep gear organized and not as dry bags.
The packs and who each suits
NorthFork chest pack. The maker says the main compartment holds up to four full-size fly boxes and a secondary compartment holds two more. It has internal pockets for leaders, tippet and indicators, a net slot described as an easy-access slot for your net, an external fly patch for drying flies, extra stretch pockets and VersiLoop attachments compatible with Umpqua's six-piece accessory line. It is a good fit for someone who wants a chest pack that holds a day's boxes and nothing fancy. No weight or fabric is listed.
SWIFTLINK ThunderCreek. A 5.7-liter (350 cubic inch) chest pack that holds six Umpqua fly boxes in the main compartment, with a flat back panel that has a zippered flat pocket and a D-ring, a stretch mesh pocket, a net storage loop, and 10 LINK ports. It includes a HatchPad. The middle of the range.
SWIFTLINK Overlook. The biggest: 9.8 liters (600 cubic inches), holding 10 fly boxes, with a detachable 300 cubic inch zippered backpack, a full pass-through net slot in the backpack, a hydration bladder hanger with a tubing slot, dual stretch mesh pockets, four internal mesh pockets and 12 LINK ports. At that size it is a chest pack you can load for a full day. A big front load sits on your chest and can crowd your casting arm, so try the fit.
SWIFTLINK Ledges waist pack. 11.5 liters (700 cubic inches), holding 12 fly boxes across three full-length zippered pockets, with 12 LINK ports, two built-in water bottle holders, a shoulder strap and a net slot pass-through. A waist pack sits behind or beside you instead of in front, which helps if a chest pack gets in the way of your line hand. The page does not list a belt size or weight.
Ledges ZS2 500. An older waist pack. We only have the Amazon listing, which calls the style lumbar, so there is no confirmed capacity.
A Steamboat sling pack appears as a related product on the maker's pages, but it is not in our Amazon data, so it is not covered here. For slings, see our sling pack page.
Nets, ports and accessories
Three details separate the Umpqua packs in daily use. The first is how each one carries a net. The NorthFork has a slot for your net. The ThunderCreek has a net storage loop on the flat back panel. The Overlook has a full pass-through net slot built into its detachable backpack, and the Ledges has a net slot pass-through in the back panel. A net loop and a slot are not the same thing, and which one suits you depends on your net handle, so look at the net you own.
The second is the attachment system. The SWIFTLINK packs list 10 to 12 LINK ports, square die cuts that take Umpqua's LINK accessories, and each includes a HatchPad (a patch for drying flies). The NorthFork instead lists VersiLoop attachments that fit Umpqua's six-piece accessory line. The pages do not say the two systems are interchangeable, so if you own accessories, check which system they belong to before you buy.
The third is how the weight sits. A packed pack with ten boxes is heavy, and the pages give no weights, so I would pick one and weigh it when it arrives. I'd put the boxes and tools you reach for most near the top, and spares at the back. That is a habit, not a maker instruction.
Common mistakes with a pack this size
Buying by liters alone is the usual one. A pack that holds twelve fly boxes is a lot of pack for a day with two, and a full pack on your waist or chest is something you carry all day. Gary bought the 12-box waist pack for a two-box outing and spent the afternoon carrying lunch for four. The second mistake is assuming a pack is weatherproof because it has a zipper. The pages I read for Umpqua make no waterproof claim, so use a dry bag for anything that must stay dry, such as a phone or a spare jacket. The third is skipping the fit: a waist pack needs a belt that fits over your waders, and the Ledges page does not list a belt size.
What the alternatives are
The other ten rows come from several brands, mostly vests. frogg toggs has the Hellbender and Cascades Classic50 vests, Bassdash has two vests, Orvis the Clearwater Mesh vest, Simms the Guide Vest, Aventik a vest backpack, Fishpond the Switchback 2.0 wading system, a lumbar belt pack, and Allen a strap vest. One more row is a bass-style vest that is listing-only, so every value for it is what Amazon says. These are different products with a different job. A vest spreads weight across the shoulders and has more pockets, and a chest pack is a single large compartment system. The comparison is a way to see the choice, not a statement that one is better.
If you want to compare chest packs, the chest pack page lists chest packs across brands, and the pack vs vest guide helps with the larger choice.
Warranty
I could not confirm a warranty. Umpqua's customer service page says the company is happy to help with returns and does not state a warranty for packs or bags, and I did not find a separate warranty page in the pages I read. That is not the same as having none. It means I can't tell you what it covers. Ask Umpqua or the seller before you buy, and keep your receipt.
How to choose
Count your fly boxes first. Umpqua's own measure is the number of its boxes that fit: 4 plus 2 in the NorthFork, 6 in the ThunderCreek, 10 in the Overlook, 12 in the Ledges. If you carry two boxes and a tippet spool, the smaller chest packs are plenty. If you carry six or more, look at the Overlook or the Ledges.
Then pick where it sits. A chest pack is in front of you and quick to open. A waist pack stays out of the way of your casting arm. Wading deep matters here: the NorthFork page says the pack keeps gear high for deep wading, and a waist pack sits lower, so check where the water will reach.
Last, think about what the pages do not tell you: weight and water protection. If those matter, the Fishpond packs list weights and, for some, a waterproof or submersible label, which makes the comparison easier. Our fly fishing packs page and fly fishing vests page let you compare across brands.
Where Umpqua shows up
Questions about Umpqua
How big is the Umpqua SWIFTLINK Overlook chest pack?
Umpqua's page lists 9.8 liters (600 cubic inches) and says it can hold 10 Umpqua fly boxes. It has a detachable zippered backpack of 300 cubic inches, a full pass-through net slot built into the backpack, and a hanger and tubing slot for a hydration bladder. The page does not list a weight or a fabric.
What does LINK mean on Umpqua packs?
The SWIFTLINK packs have LINK ports, which are die-cut openings that work with Umpqua's LINK accessory line, and each of the SWIFTLINK packs I read includes a LINK HatchPad. The Overlook page lists 12 ports, the ThunderCreek 10 and the Ledges 12. The Overlook page does not say that SWIFTLINK refers to the LINK system, so I'd treat the two names as related but separate.
Is the Umpqua NorthFork chest pack waterproof?
Umpqua's page makes no water-resistance claim. It says the pack keeps gear high for easy access and deep wading, which is a design statement, not a waterproof one. The Amazon listing calls it water resistant, so our table shows that as a listing value. I would not treat any of these packs as waterproof.
Does Umpqua make a sling pack?
A Steamboat sling pack appears among related products on the Umpqua site, but it is not in our Amazon data at our last check, so it is not in the table. Our sling pack page lists slings from other brands.
What is the Umpqua warranty on packs?
I could not confirm one. Umpqua's customer service page says it is happy to help with returns and does not state a warranty for packs or bags, and I did not find a separate warranty page. If you need a warranty, ask Umpqua or the seller before you buy.
Where does Umpqua fit among pack brands?
Umpqua is a fly company first. Its about page says everything it does is made for the water and describes work on hooks, packs, fly storage and tools, and the pack pages measure capacity in how many Umpqua fly boxes fit. That makes it easy to size a pack if you already own the boxes, and less useful if you do not.
Sources
- Umpqua: About us — accessed 2026-10-15
- Hatch Magazine: Umpqua founder Dennis Black passes away — accessed 2026-10-15
- Umpqua: SWIFTLINK Overlook Chest Pack — accessed 2026-10-15
- Umpqua: SWIFTLINK ThunderCreek Chest Pack — accessed 2026-10-15
- Umpqua: SWIFTLINK Ledges Waist Pack — accessed 2026-10-15
- Umpqua: NorthFork Chest Pack — accessed 2026-10-15
- Umpqua: Customer service — accessed 2026-10-15














