We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no cost to you. Disclosure
| Model | Line weight | Arbor | Reel weight | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Hatch Iconic 4 Plus Large ArborFly reel More specs
| 4–6 wt | Largelisting | 5.25 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
Hatch Iconic 3 Plus Large ArborFly reel More specs
| 3–5 wt | Largelisting | 4.94 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
Hatch Iconic 5 Plus Large ArborFly reel More specs
| 5–7 wt | Largelisting | 5.94 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
Hatch Iconic 9 Plus Large ArborFly reel More specs
| 9–11 wt | Largelisting | 10.2 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
Hatch Iconic 7 Plus Large ArborFly reel More specs
| 7–9 wt | Largelisting | 8.89 ozmaker | See it on Amazon |
Hatch Iconic 5 Plus Mid ArborFly reel More specs
| 5–7 wt | Midlisting | — | See it on Amazon |
Hatch Iconic 9 Plus Mid ArborFly reel More specs
| 9–11 wt | Midlisting | — | See it on Amazon |
Hatch Iconic 11 Plus Mid ArborFly reel More specs
| 11–12 wt | Midlisting | — | See it on Amazon |
Hatch Iconic 7 Plus Mid ArborFly reel More specs
| 7–9 wt | Midlisting | — | See it on Amazon |
Which Hatch model, if any
Who Hatch is
Hatch's story page says Hatch Outdoors began in 2003 with the goal of making a fly reel that would set the industry standard, and calls the company family-owned and operated. It does not name founders. The company's repair page gives a Vista, California address, and the Iconic 5 Plus product page says that reel is proudly made in Southern California, USA. That is all I can source, and I will not add to it.
What Hatch sells on Amazon US now
At our last check (October 2026) we track 9 Hatch fly reels on Amazon US, all from the Iconic Plus family. There are no Hatch rods, lines or apparel in our data, so this is a reels-only page. Five are large arbor and four are mid arbor:
| Reel | Arbor | Line weights | Maker weight | Diameter |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iconic 3 Plus | large | 3 to 5 | 4.94 oz | 3.25 in |
| Iconic 4 Plus | large | 4 to 6 | 5.25 oz | 3.425 in |
| Iconic 5 Plus | large | 5 to 7 | 5.94 oz | 3.75 in |
| Iconic 7 Plus | large | 7 to 9 | 8.89 oz | 4.125 in |
| Iconic 9 Plus | large | 9 to 11 | 10.2 oz | 4.375 in |
| Iconic 5 Plus | mid | 5 to 7 | not in data | 3.75 in |
| Iconic 7 Plus | mid | 7 to 9 | not in data | 4.125 in |
| Iconic 9 Plus | mid | 9 to 11 | not in data | 4.375 in |
| Iconic 11 Plus | mid | 11 to 12 | not in data | 4.75 in |
In the table above, a small mark sits under each value. "Maker" means Hatch's own page states it, "listing" means only the Amazon listing does, and "—" means we could not confirm it. Every reel here has a maker page linked, but the arbor type in our data comes from the Amazon listing, so it shows a "listing" mark. Read the arbor on the listing before you order.
What the maker says about the Iconic
The 5 Plus page, the only Hatch reel page I could read in full, lists a Type II anodize finish and warns that the color may vary. It lists line weights 5 to 7, large and mid arbor spools, and says the reel is not compatible with previous model spools. Species named are trout, corbina and smallmouth bass. It cites use in Southern California surf and says the reel was used for steelhead and streamer fishing. It gives no drag specification and does not state a saltwater rating. The box holds a reel pouch and an Iconic cap wrench.
Our data lists a disc carbon drag for every Hatch reel here. That is the type, not the strength: the maker's page I read gave no maximum drag figure, so I cannot tell you how hard it pulls.
(The "Plus" is on every size in our data, so nothing in the range is merely the basic one.)
Large arbor or mid arbor
The arbor is the core of the spool. A large arbor is a wider core, which means the line comes off in looser coils and each turn of the handle retrieves more line. A mid arbor is a smaller core, which leaves more room on the spool for backing. The maker's backing capacities show the trade:
| Size | Large arbor capacity | Mid arbor capacity |
|---|---|---|
| 5 Plus | WF5F + 120 yd | WF5F + 130 yd |
| 7 Plus | WF7F + 260 yd | WF7F + 340 yd |
| 9 Plus | WF9F + 300 yd | WF9F + 400 yd |
The same pattern holds across each pair. For a trout rod, the difference of ten yards is small. For a larger fish and a bigger reel, it can matter. In my view the coils matter most with thin, stiff lines, which hold the shape of a small core. Our fly reel size guide and the guide to how much backing goes on a fly reel explain how to use the numbers.
Choosing a size
Start with the rod's printed line weight and pick the reel whose range includes it.
- 3-weight rod. The 3 Plus (3 to 5).
- 4-weight rod. The 3 Plus or 4 Plus.
- 5-weight rod. The 3 Plus, 4 Plus or 5 Plus. Which you choose depends on how much weight you want at the butt.
- 6-weight rod. The 4 Plus or 5 Plus.
- 7-weight rod. The 5 Plus or 7 Plus.
- 8-weight rod. The 7 Plus.
- 9 or 10-weight rod. The 9 Plus, large or mid arbor.
- 11 or 12-weight rod. The 11 Plus.
That is a ladder of ranges from the maker's own spec, not a recommendation. A reel is part of the rod's balance, and the table shows the weights where the maker gives them, so use them. Our trout reel and saltwater reel pages cover the same choice across brands.
Reading the backing capacity
Hatch writes capacity as a fly line plus a length of its own backing, such as WF5F-120Y. That means the spool holds a WF5F line and 120 yards of backing. If your line is a different weight, the capacity changes, and the maker lists several lines per reel: the 5 Plus large arbor shows WF5F-120Y, WF6F-100Y and WF7F-80Y, so each step up in line weight costs you backing. Match your actual line to the row, not the first number you see.
Backing is the line under the fly line. It fills the spool so the fly line does not coil tightly, and it is your reserve if a fish runs. For a trout reel, 80 to 120 yards is plenty. For the bigger reels in this range, the maker lists 240 to 500 yards, which only makes sense if you chase fish that can run that far. Our backing page lists backing by brand, and the guides on spooling a reel and the backing knot show how to load one.
What "disc carbon" tells you, and what it does not
A disc drag is a stack of plates that squeezes to resist a running fish, and you set the pressure with the knob. Carbon is a common plate material, chosen because it stays smooth. That is what our data says for all nine reels. It does not say how much drag each reel can deliver, how sealed it is, or whether it has been rated for salt. If any of those matter, ask the maker before you buy. Our parts of a fly reel guide explains the other words in the table.
Matching reel weight to the rod
A reel is part of the balance of the outfit. The large arbor 3 Plus is 4.94 oz and the 5 Plus is 5.94 oz, so the 5 Plus is a full ounce heavier than the 3 Plus, which you can feel by the end of a day on a light rod. The table gives the weights where the maker states them so you can compare.
A short care note
An anodized aluminum reel that gets wet should be rinsed and dried after a day on the water, and the drag knob backed off for storage so the plates are not left under pressure. That is general practice rather than a Hatch instruction, so follow any care guidance that came with your reel.
Warranty and repairs
The Hatch repair page says that current repairs may take up to 7 to 9 weeks to process and complete once a reel arrives at its offices. Sending a reel in means accepting the page's terms, and the page directs you to a warranty policy page. I could not read that page, so I will not state the warranty terms. If they matter to you, read the policy on Hatch's site before you buy, and keep your receipt. Hatch also has a warranty registration page.
Spare spools and compatibility
The 5 Plus page warns that the reel is not compatible with previous model spools. That is worth reading twice if you already own a Hatch and plan to buy another or a spare. Match the spool to the model generation and the arbor you have. The listings in our data are reels, so check whether a spare spool is in the box.
Common mistakes
- Mixing up large and mid arbor. The same size name covers both, and the capacity differs.
- Assuming a saltwater rating. The maker page we read does not state one.
- Ignoring the weight. An 8.89 oz 7 Plus on a light 7-weight can feel butt-heavy.
- Buying for the rod weight and skipping the capacity. If a fish can run, check the backing figure.
How to read the table
The line weight bar runs 1 to 12, and Hatch reels cluster at 3 to 12. The "Arbor" column shows the listing's word. The "Drag" column shows disc carbon, and "Reel weight" shows the maker's weight where the data has it. A dash means we could not confirm the value.
For other brands, the fly reels section and the best fly reels page apply plain rules to the whole field, and the parts of a fly reel guide explains the words.
Before you order
Open the listing and confirm three things: the arbor (large or mid), the line weight range against your rod, and the model generation if you plan to share spools with a reel you already own. If the listing shows a dash for a value in our table, treat it as unconfirmed rather than missing by accident.
Where Hatch shows up
Questions about Hatch
Where are Hatch fly reels made?
The product page for the Iconic 5 Plus says it is proudly made in Southern California, USA. The company's repair page gives a Vista, California address. We read the made-in statement on the 5 Plus page only, so we do not extend it to every Hatch product.
What is the difference between large arbor and mid arbor on a Hatch Iconic?
The arbor is the diameter of the spool core. On the maker's pages the Iconic Plus comes with a large arbor spool or a mid arbor spool, and the backing capacity differs: for the 5 Plus, the large arbor lists WF5F with 120 yards and the mid arbor lists WF5F with 130 yards. The page also says the reels are not compatible with previous model spools.
Is the Hatch Iconic a saltwater reel?
The maker's 5 Plus page does not state a saltwater rating. It lists trout, corbina and smallmouth bass and cites Southern California surf use, steelhead and streamer fishing. If you plan to fish salt, ask Hatch what it rates the reel for before you buy.
What comes in the box with a Hatch Iconic?
The maker's 5 Plus page lists a reel pouch and an Iconic cap wrench. Read the listing for the exact size you buy, because contents can differ.
How big are the Hatch Iconic Plus reels?
On the maker's pages the large arbor 3 Plus is 3.25 inches across and 4.94 oz, the 5 Plus is 3.75 inches and 5.94 oz, the 7 Plus is 4.125 inches and 8.89 oz, and the 9 Plus is 4.375 inches and 10.2 oz. Weights for the mid arbor versions are not in our data.
How long does a Hatch repair take?
Hatch's repair page says current repairs may take up to 7 to 9 weeks to process and complete once the reel arrives at its offices. The page also points to a warranty policy page, which we could not read, so we do not state the terms.
Sources
- Hatch Outdoors: How it all started — accessed 2026-10-15
- Hatch Outdoors: Repairs — accessed 2026-10-15
- Hatch Outdoors: Iconic fly reel 5 Plus — accessed 2026-10-15
- Hatch Outdoors: Mission — accessed 2026-10-15








